G20 – The Group of Twenty - German Presidency

Jan 10, 2017

At their annual summits, the heads of state and government of the world’s leading industrial countries and emerging economies (G20) traditionally focus on issues relating to global economic growth and financial market regulation.

Germany took over the G20 Presidency from China on 1st December 2016. The 19 leading industrialised countries and emerging economies and the EU account for almost two‑thirds of the world population, more than four‑fifths of gross world product and three‑quarters of world trade.

True to its motto “Shaping an interconnected world”, the German G20 Presidency is setting three priorities: building resilience, improving sustainability, assuming responsibility.

Building resilience

In the G20, Germany is going to work to create stable basic conditions for global economic growth and for a resilient international financial architecture. A further goal is to improve international cooperation both on financial and tax questions as well as on employment, trade and investment.

The German G20 Presidency thus wants to work to regulate shadow banking and combat tax evasion, and to facilitate international trade and investment.

Improving sustainability

By implementing the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the Paris Agreement, Germany wants to work with the G20 to make the global economy fit for the future.

Other topics that Germany wants to promote under this heading include the digitisation of the global economy, fighting resistance against antibiotics, pandemic preparedness as well as women’s economic empowerment.

Assuming responsibility

The German G20 Presidency also wants to put the spotlight on Africa’s economic development. It is important to make a lasting improvement to the living conditions of people in Africa.

The Partnership for Africa is to promote the development of stable conditions for investment and of infrastructure on the continent. Under the heading “responsibility” also come discussions on questions such as flight and migration, combating terrorism as well as money laundering and corruption.

G20 Summit and Ministerial Meetings

The eleventh G20 summit took place in the eastern Chinese city of Hangzhou on 4th and 5th September under the Chinese presidency. The presidency’s main priority was to strengthen the currently weak growth of the global economy. Under the motto “Towards an innovative, invigorated, interconnected and inclusive world economy”, the heads of state and government agreed on a series of action plans to bring this goal closer.

Summit in Hamburg on 7th and 8th July

The twelfth Summit in the history of the G20 will be held in Hamburg on 7th and 8th July 2017.

The foreign ministers of the G20 and some guest countries as well as representatives of various international organisations are meeting in Bonn on 16 and 17 February 2017 at the invitation of Federal Minister Frank‑Walter Steinmeier. The G20 finance, labour, health and agriculture ministers, as well as those responsible for digital policy, meet in the run‑up to the Summit.

Who are the G20?

The Group of Twenty (G20) comprises 19 states plus the EU. Alongside Germany, the countries are: Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

The EU Commission and the President of the European Council share the EU’s seat. The following international organisations also regularly take part in the G20 Summits: the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the World Bank (WB), the Financial Stability Board (FSB), the Organisation for Economic Co‑operation and Development (OECD), the World Trade Organization (WTO), the International Labour Organization (ILO) and the United Nations (UN).

The presidency can also invite other states and regional organisations to participate. During the German Presidency, Spain, the Netherlands, Norway, Singapore, the Chairperson of the African Union, the CEO of the New Partnership for Africa’s Development (NEPAD) and the chair of the Asia‑Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) will be invited.

© 1995-2017 Federal Foreign Office

G20 – The Group of Twenty - German Presidency

A reef knot as the symbol of the G20 summit in Hamburg

Germany's G20 Presidency: Addressing digitalisation at global level

German Minister for Economic Affairs, Sigmar Gabriel

Under Germany’s Presidency, the G20 intends to focus more on the digital transformation, in order to make economies around the world fit for the future.